Well, that’s what I get…

…for complaining that J’s eye surgery didn’t work in his right eye.  Because at the follow up appointment today it’s now also looking like it didn’t work on the left.  Depending on the results at the next follow up on Tuesday, the plan is either another surgery next week, or 2-3 weeks from now.

FYI, those tabs are bootstraps.  I am pulling them up metaphorically.
FYI, those tabs are bootstraps. I am pulling those fuckers UP.

Negative Nancy, time to get back in your cage.  We’re pulling up our bootstraps and getting on with this shit.  James, my precious peanut, ICU Dad and I will save your vision if it’s the last thing we do.

As an aside, something I really noticed today.  Blythedale (J’s rehabilitation hospital) lets us take James to his appointments ourselves by car.  My father-in-law and I just popped that old oxygen tank in the bottom of the stroller and rolled; James loves the car like nothing else, so it’s actually kind of nice to take him out even if only to doctors’ appointments.  Anyway, I had a minute when J was calm in the ophthalmologist’s waiting room to look around, and realized that quite literally everyone was staring at us.

Shotgun!  Yeah right, J.  Sorry buddy, we're a rear facing until two kind of family.
Shotgun! Yeah right, J. Sorry buddy, we’re a rear facing until two kind of family.

I had an urge to yell at the top of my lungs.  What’s wrong with you jerks?  Haven’t you ever seen an eleven pound six month old baby on oxygen?  But then thought: crap, me neither.

Fine then, I get it, stare at us if you want.  But for the love, the least you can do is smile nicely while you’re doing it.

(That’s what she said).

Sorry, I wish I could help myself.

One thought on “Well, that’s what I get…

  1. I cannot believe the surgery didn’t work. I’m sending you all the hugs and all the fist bumps for throwing that Negative nancy back in her cage. We J14 mamas have your back and are sending you all our love!

Leave a Reply

